top of page


The following have been nominated for Awards at the 139th Annual Alumni Reunion to be awarded on Saturday, May 18, 2019 at the Marriott Brooklyn Bridge.

Alumni Achievement Awards

Alumni Achievement Award in Physical Medicine – Mark Livecchi, MD’ 94  
Alumni Achievement Award in Cosmetic Surgery – Jay Fine, MD’ 69 

Alumni Achievement Award in Dermatology – Paul Rose, MD’ 79 

Alumni Achievement Award in Emergency Medicine –Elizabeth Singer, MD’ 94 

Alumni Achievement Award in Family Medicine – Maria Gbur, MD’ 94 

Alumni Achievement Award in Psychiatry – Howard Rudominer, MD’ 69 

Alumni Achievement Award in Anesthesiology – Gary Dellerson, MD’ 69  

Alumni Achievement Award in Internal Medicine – Alan Kiseltein, MD’ 69  

Alumni Achievement Award in Ophthalmology – Julius Shulman, MD’ 69 

Alumni Achievement Award in Orthopedics – Roy K. Aaron, MD’ 69 

Alumni Achievement Award in Pathology – Samuel J. Insalaco, MD’74 

Alumni Achievement Award in Pediatrics – Pasquale Accardo, MD’ 69 

Alumni Achievement Award in Surgery – Wilbur Bowen Bowne, MD’ 94 
Master Teacher Awards 

Master Teacher Award in Emergency Medicine – Yiannis L. Katsogridakis, MD’94
Master Teacher Award in Pulmonology – Avram Gold, MD’ 79 
Master Teacher Award in Ophthalmology – Sandra Caputo Belmont, MD’ 79 
Master Teacher Award in Surgery – James Mezoian , MD’ 69 
Master Teacher Award in Pathology – Mathew Pincus, MD’ 79  

Alumni Achievement Award for Distinguished Service to American Medicine: 
Henry Lim, MD’75 
Each year the College of Medicine recognizes an alumnus who has brought distinction to himself and his alma mater through significant contributions to the welfare of mankind.   

Dr. Frank L. Babbott Memorial Award:
Diane Kaufman , MD’79
This award, named after Dr. Frank L. Babbott, recognizes alumni with distinguished service to both the medical profession and the general community.   
Benjamin Zohn, MD '25 Alumni Service Award: Elliot Vihinsky, MD’74  

Clarence and Mary Dennis Dedicated Service Award:
Carla Boutin-Foster, MD ’94 
This award was established in 1994 to recognize alumni who provide exceptional service and leadership to the Alumni Association-College of Medicine of SUNY Downstate Medical Center:  
Clark-Curran Award in Medical Administration: Wesley Wallace, MD’69 

Honorary Alumnus/a: Dr. Riccardo Bianchi  

bottom of page