top of page

139th Annual Dinner Dance & Gala Recap, May 17-19, 2019

The 139th Annual Dinner Dance & Gala, May 17 – 19, 2019, was well attended by Downstate’s College of Medicine alumni at the Brooklyn Marriott! The three day weekend began with a student-led tour of SUNY Downstate Medical Center and Kings County. Alumni enjoyed the Welcoming Reception as they reminisced with classmates and met current students, one of whom, was the son of Aaron Frelich, MD’ 89, who was in attendance, celebrating his 30th-year reunion!

On May 18, 2018, the festivities continued with breakfast followed by the Scientific Program presentation, which was led by Co-Chairmen Drs. Jenny Libien and Suzanne Mirra. This year’s four presenters were Drs. Michael T. Goldstein, Veronica Ades, Roy K. Aaron, and Dara Kass. Topics included healthcare consolidation and sex trafficking. Following the Scientific Program was the alumni awards ceremony, with the highest honor conferred to Henry Lim, MD’ 75, for his distinguished service to American Medicine.

After the awards ceremony, alumni attended the dinner dance and gala, where former Alumni Association President Dr. Michael Goldstein handed over the reins to Dr. Linda Nicoll. Unlike previous years, this dinner dance and gala included a magician, silent auction and pledge program, with the Association raising over $30,000 in donations! The weekend came to an end on May 19th with breakfast at the Marriott!

Scientific Program Topics:

Michael T. Goldstein, MD ’74, JD President – Alumni Association, College of Medicine SUNY Downstate “Healthcare Consolidation Despite the Antitrust Laws Designed to Preserve Competition”

Veronica Ades, MD’ 04 Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology Director of Global Women’s Health – NYU School of Medicine “Sex Trafficking and the Empower Clinic”  

Roy K. Aaron, MD’ 69 Professor of Orthopaedics, Professor of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology and Biotechnology – Brown University “Is Osteoarthritis A Vascular Disease”

Dara Kass, MD’ 03 Founder & CEO – FemInEM “Advancing Gender Equity from Podcasts to Podiums”

Award Winners: 

Alumni Achievement Awards

Alumni Achievement Award in Physical Medicine – Mark Livecchi, MD’ 94 Alumni Achievement Award in Cosmetic Surgery – Jay Fine, MD’ 69

Alumni Achievement Award in Dermatology – Paul Rose, MD’ 79

Alumni Achievement Award in Emergency Medicine –Elizabeth Singer, MD’ 94

Alumni Achievement Award in Family Medicine – Maria Gbur, MD’ 94

Alumni Achievement Award in Psychiatry – Howard Rudominer, MD’ 69

Alumni Achievement Award in Anesthesiology – Gary Dellerson, MD’ 69

Alumni Achievement Award in Internal Medicine – Alan Kiseltein, MD’ 69

Alumni Achievement Award in Ophthalmology – Julius Shulman, MD’ 69

Alumni Achievement Award in Orthopedics – Roy K. Aaron, MD’ 69

Alumni Achievement Award in Pathology – Samuel J. Insalaco, MD’74

Alumni Achievement Award in Pediatrics – Pasquale Accardo, MD’ 69

Alumni Achievement Award in Surgery – Wilbur Bowen Bowne, MD’ 94

Master Teacher Awards 

Master Teacher Award in Emergency Medicine – Yiannis L. Katsogridakis, MD’94 Master Teacher Award in Pulmonology – Avram Gold, MD’ 79 Master Teacher Award in Ophthalmology – Sandra Caputo Belmont, MD’ 79 Master Teacher Award in Surgery – James Mezoian , MD’ 69 Master Teacher Award in Pathology – Mathew Pincus, MD’ 79

Alumni Achievement Award for Distinguished Service to American Medicine:  Henry Lim, MD’75 Each year the College of Medicine recognizes an alumnus who has brought distinction to himself and his alma mater through significant contributions to the welfare of mankind. Dr. Frank L. Babbott Memorial Award: Diane Kaufman , MD’79 This award, named after Dr. Frank L. Babbott, recognizes alumni with distinguished service to both the medical profession and the general community.  

Benjamin Zohn, MD ’25 Alumni Service Award: Elliot Vihinsky, MD’74 Clarence and Mary Dennis Dedicated Service Award: Carla Boutin-Foster, MD ’94 This award was established in 1994 to recognize alumni who provide exceptional service and leadership to the Alumni Association-College of Medicine of SUNY Downstate Medical Center:

Clark-Curran Award in Medical Administration: Wesley Wallace, MD’69 Honorary Alumnus/a: Dr. Riccardo Bianchi


Check out photos from the weekend below:

May 17-19, 2019 Posted by Suny Medico on Tuesday, May 28, 2019
2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page